There’s no place like home..

kilde:

But where is home? Where will my red sparkly shoes take me when I click them together three times?
I spent the 25 minutes it takes me to get home from work thinking about where my home is.
Truth is, I don’t really know.. I mean sure where my family is I will always have a home..
But for 9 months I had a home in Mosjøen, a year at folkehøgskole, a year I will never forget and a year I constantly miss and think about. It was a place where I felt safe and welcome and included.

Then for 10 months my home was downunder, in Auckland, New Zealand. I got to experience so many different cultures, made friends from all over the world and I got to live with some of the best people. Also a place I keep going back to in my head, imagining how it would be if I went back there now, if I’d feel as welcome as I did the first time. when I’ve changed, surely the place has changed as well?

From there my path was leading me to Wolverhampton, my home of 2 1/2 years more or less. I might’ve said 100+ times that it’s not a pretty city nor an amazing city, I lied. It’s both beautiful and amazing. I’ve had so many ups and downs there, I’ve had some of the best housemates and maybe some of the worst as well hehe. But it was home, even when I was alone or feeling low I still belonged there.  a place where I could fit in and grow into a better person. I was close to changing my mind for a little while, but what kind of friend would I be to let my best friend down when she’d planned to move after me.. I’m glad I stayed now, so much good came out of it, if not so much for me, then at least for other people around me.. I also made some terrific friends, people that will always have a special place in my heart❤.

Finally I am now sat here on my sofa in Oslo, my 5th home in as many years, (including my family home) thinking: “Do I fit in?” the feeling of being here on holiday is slowly fading away, but it’s not home.. Not yet anyway..
I remember being terrified of leaving wolverhampton, terrified of leaving the student life and become a “real adult”
I’m still scared, but I’m getting used to the feeling, getting used to drift from place to place.. But I’m hope that one day I will find someone or something to tie me down somewhere.. so that I can truly say:

There’s no place like home…

and mean it.

Categories: blogging, England, friendship, life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “There’s no place like home..

  1. for det fustsa: så kjekt å se at blogglystå e tebake ijen:) virke sånn jaffal:)

    nei, forstår godt at du har vanskligt for å sei kor him e:) for meg e det hos mamma og her me bur nå:)

    og du ska se du finne deg ein som gjør hjem, et sjikligt hjem for deg:)

  2. Så deilig å kunne si det!🙂 Tenker det blir en litt annen ro over deg og det du gjør fremover når man føler at man passer inn og kan være seg selv helt.🙂

  3. Jeg har alltid bodd “hjemme”, så jeg vet igrunn ikke hvordan det er å flytte “hjemmefra”. Jeg tror nok det er en tilvenning, men jeg tror også at enkelte plasser ikke passer for alle. Så det gjenstår jo å se for deg da😉 Vi håper jo på det beste selvfølgelig.

  4. I can definitely understand your view on this one; I’ve lived at both my mum’s place, and my dad’s, for approximately half of my life now, I even lived on the 1st floor at my grandparents house for a while. I’ve been away at boarding school for three years, three hours away. And now, almost everything I own is at my dad’s house, while I feel like a guest, living at mum’s because it’s easier when I’m working as much as I do right now. So the feeling of not knowing where this world would take me when clicking those sparkly, red shoes, is not that unfamiliar. I hope something or someone will come along to give you that confidence of knowing.

    Answ.: Yeah, the night shifts do pay well, that’s for sure! I even got some time by by watching this awesome, vintage Norwegian movie called (translated just now): “Should any additional bodies emerge, don’t hesitate to call” with Arve Opsahl and Aud Schønemann. I had a hard time laughing silently! I didn’t get to view it all though, but I’m planning to watch the rest of it when I’m working the night shift again in less than 24 hours.

    xx ♥♡❤

  5. Det er vanskelig, hvor er hjemme. Jeg har alltid hatt to hjem jeg, ett hos mamma og min stefar i kristiansand, og et hos pappa i tønsberg, så akkurat dét er mine to hjem. Men det tok ikke lange tiden før jeg begynte å kalle Gjøvik for hjemme, og begynte å si at jeg skulle dra “hjem” til Gjøvik når jeg var i kr.sand. Men jeg har hatt det greit i 1år og 2-3mnd her nå, jeg trives. Selv om ikke byen er veldig stor, så er menneskene som bor her de beste. Klassen er den beste. Jeg trives, veldig. OG jeg håper du finner et sted hvor du trives så godt at du kommer til å kalle det for hjem.

  6. I’m sure that in time you will find your place where you can spread your roots and settle. You’ve been so lucky to experience so many different places, and I’m sure that when you find somewhere to call home, it’ll be amazing. …and I’ll come and visit🙂 Haha

  7. For det første er noe av det jeg elsker med bloggen din at du er så åpen og flink til å skrive ned tankene dine🙂 for det andre kan jeg ikke si “jeg vet hvordan du har det” i og med at jeg fortsatt bor hjemme, men jeg føler likevel at jeg skjønner tankegangen din! kanskje det ikke alltid er meningen at man skal “høre til” et sted..? Eller kanskje man alltid hører til et sted uten å være klar over det🙂 Jeg er sikker på at du snart for en plass du kan kalle hjemme!

  8. Aah, det var så nydelig skrevet! Og jeg skjønner godt hva du mener. Når kan man virkelig si “there’s no place like home?” hvis man ikke vet hva “home” er? Har tenkt masse på det der selv og hvor jeg kommer til å ende opp. Men du sier jo at du har blitt så godt tatt imot og hatt det bra alle de tidligere stedene, selv om du kanskje ikke ser det før i ettertid, så jeg tipper du kommer til å kunne trives der du er nå. Alt er bare så nytt og nytt er ikke “home” enda, men det kommer til å gå bra❤

  9. Hjemme er alltid best!!! True that🙂

  10. Den skjønner jeg virkelig:) For meg er “home” akkurat der jeg bor for øyeblikket. Eventuelt i huset til Onkel, hvor mormor bodde og jeg tilbrakte sommrene mine:)
    Ellers har jeg ikke noe barndomshus på en måte, siden det har vært flyttings og slikt på gang😄

  11. Line

    Mange eg kjenner sei at “there’s no place like home” er der du har vokst opp. Nokon so i mitt tilfelle blir Vartdal. Men ser på Oslo meir som mitt heim, da eg trivast betre her enn på Vartdal.

    Men eg er sikker på at du snart finner “ditt hjem” og nokon å dele det med, for du er jo fantastisk❤

  12. mitt home vil alltid vær i Haugesund, men egentlig så føle eg samtidig at leiligheten eg har sammens med samboeren min her i oslo også e mitt home, så eg skjønne ka du meine med at du ikje heilt vett kor ditt home sweet home e.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

